Popping my Zombie Cherry

A writing group I’m a member of *waves @ plot bunnies* decided to have a wee low pressure gift swap this Christmas, in the form of a 250 word flash fiction. Those participating gave a prompt, these were dished out, and I wrote for Melissa using this prompt:

topic: christmas morning
setting: fresh fallen snow
character: flesh eating zombie

Now I’d never written zombies before, I don’t read zombie stories, my zombie experience is limited to a couple of Buffy the Vampire Slayer episodes and that movie with Woody Harrelson, so I went in completely green…and tried to do cute and fluffy.

Well that didn’t work.

So I went with this:

Filmy eyes stare at me through the windshield. Her shirt is torn, there’s a sickening yellow bite beneath the ruined sleeve.

“Momma?”

She hunches over, clenches her fists and lets out an ear splitting scream.

Her feet cut a stumbling path in the fresh fallen snow. She screeches again, I expect the horde to return but this time I won’t have my mother to shield my eyes and cover my ears as they rock the truck and scrape the windows with blood-crusted nails.

A tall figure lurches into view. Every few halting steps his head swings to look behind him and I see his face. His eyes are dead and his lips are stained with gore.

Behind him, a tiny thing that trips and stumbles and jerks throws it’s head back and screams in infantile frustration.

Momma shuffles over to the tiny thing and tries to pick it up.

Three of them turn as one. Fingers stiffen into broken claws and they open their mouths. From each jaw-breaking maw comes a screech that hurts my ears.

I can barely see for stinging tears, I think my heart will explode from the fear, but I climb out of the truck and meet them, the deathly, deadly things that once were my Momma and my Daddy and my baby brother. I am alone, and despite the horror I want what they have, because whatever they are, at least they have each other.

I want to be with my family for Christmas.

Which is probably terribly indicative of my zombie experience. But it was fun doing something a bit icky, which I don’t do a hell of a lot, and now the cherry is popped. I can never say ‘I’ve never written zombies’ again.

I also offered up a prompt:

Topic – something has been or must be hidden
Setting – a church
Character – an emo kid

It was written by Tessa, and I could have kissed her it was so perfect. She even managed to give a hint of kink that she didn’t even know I had 😉 Thank you so much, Tessa!

About kimberleydane

I write a lot and read nowhere near enough. View all posts by kimberleydane

4 responses to “Popping my Zombie Cherry

Leave a Reply

